I don’t know why I set myself up for failure so often. I knew I was not a morning person when I decided to try to force myself to wake up at 5 and be peppy and ready to write. I tried. I really did. Honest.  But I am not a morning person. Never have been.

So, goodbye 5 A.M. wake-up call, hello bed at 2 a.m. Yup, staying up later than I normally do to write, and thats okay. I’m giving in to fact that its my precious writing time, and my creative writing part of brain doesn’t activate until the children are all in bed asleep.  I really do get some of my best writing done in the quiet of the night, when I’m not stressed that any noise I make will wake the little people. And I can function off of 5 hours of sleep no problem when I wake up, as long as I don’t have to sit and focus on creating dynamic, likable characters with an interesting plot and storyline.

I am much happier now that I’ve given in to defeat of my 5 a.m. wake-up challenge for the month of February.  I guess you could say the moral of the story is this: as long as you’re writing –  in the morning or at night, whichever is best for you – do what works for you and not someone else.

