Its been almost a two and a half weeks and I haven’t been able to write a single new word in my WIP. I haven’t been able to open and read many of the writing blogs and articles I normally devour. Thinking about writing makes me depressed and listless. I’m not sure I can explain why – other than sometimes life just gets in the way of the creative writing process. Everyone tells you ‘real writers keep writing no matter what happens in your life.’ And maybe you should – if you can. But I don’t agree. Sometimes I think it’s important to take the break that you need from writing when life just gets too hard, when other things take precedence in your life. It is not as though I will never write again – although trust me, the thought has crossed my mind. I admit it, I may be a bit of a drama queen. I try to embrace my faults rather than ignore them.

Then I read I Was Wrong! When Life Gets in the Way, by Lillian Duncan and I felt such a load lifted from my shoulders I hadn’t realized was there. I felt free to give myself the distance that I know right now I need. Sometimes the creative mind is repressed by things that do get in the way. Not everyone is the same. Maybe others would be in my situation and it would fuel their creativity and write uninhibited, but I am not that person.

Life has gotten in the way of my writing. I don’t know when I’ll have the creative ability or desire to continue writing my novel. But for now – I’ve been catching up on some much needed reading. I discovered what the fuss was about the series The Hunger Games, and I get it. The books have a way of burrowing under your skin. I was up until 3 and 4 a.m. reading the books because I just had to know what was going to happen. I thought I wouldn’t be ‘one of those’ but alas – I am.  And now I’m reading the other books that I’ve had on my shelf that I’ve been wanting to read for a long time.

 

It’s good to escape with words, even if they aren’t mine.

