Hello there neglected little blog, oh how I have missed you. Long story short: I haven’t been writing my book. Well, not much anyway.  I’m ashamed. I’m remorseful. I want a fresh start.

So I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I have tried it once before, but this time I mean it and I’ve prepared myself.  I’m not going to wimp out at 1000 words and get distracted by – well, life.

I am beginning at a different time period and focusing in on a much shorter time period, intensifying action, and heightening the conflict. I’ve re-focused the thesis, reworked a title, and am feeling confidant. I’m prepared.  I’ve done my research. I’ve set up chapter and scene outlines, and I still have a few more days to keep preparing and setting myself up for a month of living, breathing, eating, sleeping writing this story.

I will reach 50,000 words. . . I will reach 50,000 words . . . and even if I don’t end up using half of what I write next month it will at least be a good warm-up; a strong foundation to build something great on.

What about you? Are you participating in NaNoWriMo 2011? Have you participated before? Advice? Tips?

If you haven’t been a ‘Wrimo’ before  . . . . care to join me?

