Perhaps the best part of the NaNoWriMo journey, apart from the competition/motivation to write 50,000 words in my novel this month, is the write-in’s; getting to meet other would-be published authors, and writers going through the same journey. Sure, not as much ‘writing’ gets done at a write-in (especially on nights like tonight when a reporter popped in to interview our group of wrimo’s), but the camaraderie is inspiring, and soul-lifting. Writing is often such an isolating occupation when you can find a community of other writers you gotta hang on to them with everything you have.  Plus, the write-in’s give me the extra boost of energy to come home and pound out a couple hundred more words. Gotta keep pace with the word count of my fellow wrimo’s!

Snapshot from Sunday's write-in

 

Also, because of the write-in’s I’ve found some really fun websites and programs that I would never have discovered otherwise, such as:

  1. Write or Die where you write – or, wait for it . . . die! I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve heard that if you become distracted and slow down a little pac man type monster comes and starts devouring your words like a toddler who discovered a patch of blueberries. Also,  when you’re done you can export your work into email, Dropbox, clipboard, or text file of your choice. It’s not just a waste of time, honest!
  2. Scrivener where you can organize all your writing into one place, research, note cards, chapters, outlines, the actual manuscript, everything in one place. I’m so excited about this application, I just wish I had discovered it a long time ago. As it is, it will take a lot of time to figure out all its uses and features so I am holding off on transferring everything over there until after November. Time is too precious to waste, even on awesome programs like Scrivener.

What are your favorite writing websites/applications/programs? Not that I need anything more to keep me from procrastinating on my word count . . . .

P.S. Total word count is now at 13, 615 words. Boo-ya! Hopefully by the end of the this weekend it will be more than double if I actually decide to participate in the veterans day 11,000 word weekend challenge. Phew. Just writing that made me tired.

